Everything you need to know about California’s driving laws is inside the California Driver Handbook. It is 162 pages of driver nerdness and you need to know most of it before taking the driving test in California! You don’t need to find a printed copy. You can use the download link below.
California Driver Handbook
Here is the link to download the California Driver Handbook for free. Included in this 2018 issue is the latest and greatest of the California driving laws that just took effect in January of this year. Learn about the new driving with marijuana law, how to start your driver’s license application online, new seat belt laws for buses and a notice about new motorcycle training courses.
There really is a lot crammed into this little book these days. There is a lot of information on where to find things online, hours of the DMV, helpful phone numbers and information for veterans. There is also a new section on REAL ID to let you know what this new form of identification is and how to obtain it.
There are also the usual rules and regulations on driver’s licenses and the rules of the road. This is the handbook that you need to study in order to pass your written driver’s test in California and also the driving test.
We wish you all the luck in taking your driver’s test. Once you’re driving around with your new car, keep in mind you’ll need to take good care of it. We’re here to help with your oil changes, tire rotations and other tasks on your regular maintenance schedule. Drop by any time at A1 Performance Auto Repair if you have any problems with your car. We’ll take a look at it. Now that you have your California Driver Handbook, study hard!
Of course, everyone wants to believe it will never happen to them. But, unfortunately, most everyone will be in a car accident at some point or another while driving. There are certain things you must do when you’re in an accident, do you know all of these items on the list?
Here is a list of just some of the things you have to do when involved in a car accident.
What To Do After a Car Accident
- Stop the car. It doesn’t matter if it was your fault or not. You must stop, even if you hit property.
- Move the car out of traffic.
- Check for injuries. Check your passengers, yourself and then check anyone else involved for injuries. Call an ambulance if necessary.
- Determine where you are. Look for a mile marker or a landmark so that you can explain where you are.
- In California you are not required to call the police, but it is a good idea to do so.
- Give your name, phone number, home address, insurance policy number, auto registration and driver’s license number to the other driver(s). Get the same from them, but in addition, write down information about their car like its color, license plate number, make, model and year.
- Take photos of the people, the cars, injuries and damaged property.
- Cooperate with the police officer and explain only the facts. Do not accept any responsibility or fault, only give the facts of what happened.
- Report the car accident to your insurance company as soon as it is easy to do so.
- Get medical treatment, if there is any chance that you were seriously injured, such as banging your head or being tossed around in the car.
- Within 10 days report the accident to the DMV if anyone was injured or if there was $1000 or more in property damage. Here is the form to report the car accident to the DMV. Safe travels!
Learn how to check your driving record so that you can have erroneous information removed or be prepared for your employer to see what’s on it. It is a good idea to check your record every year to make sure there are no issues with identity theft.
How to Check Your Driving Record
Whether you’re waiting for some points or undesirable information to be removed from your driving record or you just want to make sure there isn’t anything on there that shouldn’t be, you can check your driving record yourself. Here is how to do that.
First, you need to be a certified user of the DMV’s online system.
For this you’ll need to use:
- Your CA Driver’s License
- Date of Birth
- Your Social Security Number
- Your License Issue Date
- Your Email Address
Once you’ve been granted online access, you can log in and then request your driving record.
For an official copy of your driving record for an employer or other entity, use the FORM I11NF25. The fee is $5. Make certain your printer is on and ready to print before you click print. If your printer doesn’t print then you’ll have to pay another $5 to get another go at it. So, be prepared.
For a copy of your driving record for personal use or if it doesn’t need to be “official” then the cost is only $2 and you can get that by clicking start on this page.
What To Do If You Find Incorrect Information
There is a form to fill out to report this problem. Use Report Of Incorrect Record Form DL207 to report errors or other problems.
A1 Performance Auto Repair
We hope this helps in how to check your driving record. Stop by A1 Performance Auto Repair for all your car maintenance and auto repairs.
When you’ve lost your title, don’t worry. You can still sell your car. Here is how to sell your car in California even though you don’t have the title in hand.
How to Sell Your Car in California
When you find a buyer and are going to sell your car, here is the list of things you definitely need:
- California Certificate of Title
- Signature of seller
- Signature of the lienholder
- Signature of the buyer
- Transfer fee
You have the car. You have come to an agreement on a sell price with the buyer, great! Now! Where the heck did you put that title?! Do not worry, this comes up a lot. There is a way to sell your car easily.
All you need is the Application for Duplicate or Transfer of Title form. This is form #REG 227. This form is used to sell your car just like it was the title. If you have a lienholder, this form has an area where your bank or other financial institution releases their lien when you pay them off. So, you’ll visit the bank first to sign off then take this form to the DMV with the new owner.
There might be a smog certification required. If the vehicle you’re selling is less than 4 years old then you don’t need the smog. But, if the vehicle is older than that then you will, if you haven’t had it smogged in the past 90 days. Be sure to take care of the smog certification before going to the DMV, if one is required.
There is more information on how to sell your car in California on the DMV website. If you have questions about a special circumstance, then check with the DMV’s information page. The answer is probably there and easily found.
There are some things you need to know about how to buy a used car in California before you set out to purchase one. You want to make sure you have every bit of information the DMV needs when you leave the seller. It is awful to finally get to the DMV window to register your new car and find out you need one more thing from the seller and you don’t know how to find him.
How to Buy a Used Car in California
This should go without saying, but there are some slick con people out there, so it needs to be said. Never purchase a car without getting the signed off title of the car. Double check the VIN number on the car to see if it matches the title. Have the seller sign in the title transfer area as the seller. Put in the purchase price. Write in the mileage if the car is less than 10 years old.
If the title is lost, the seller can get a duplicate title from the DMV. This is not something you can do. When you purchase the car, the seller must sign off on the title.
The car’s owner must provide you with a smog certificate that certifies the car has passed certification. Do not purchase a car that does not have this.
A bill of sale isn’t required by the DMV, but it can make your life easier when registering the car. So, ask the seller to write one for you that includes the car year, make, model and the price along with the seller’s name, address and phone number.
Take all three of these items to the DMV and register your car. How to buy a used car in California is fairly straight forward. Don’t forget to get that smog certificate from the seller.
If you’re going to be taking the DMV driving test or written test, you are going to need to know what road signs mean. Sometimes the sign will have words and other times it will be a colored sign with only a symbol. You will have to figure out what that sign means fast. Here is a trick that will help you remember.
DMV Driving Test
The DMV driving test is nerve wracking, to say the least. One particular thing you might be asked while you’re driving around is what a particular sign means. There is a trick to remembering what signs mean.
All traffic signs have a color. The color plus the shape tells you the type of information that is on the sign. This helps to figure out what kind of information is on the sign that is coming up while you’re driving. When you already know the type of information to expect, you can disregard it if it has nothing to do with you. Some signs will be a warning and you will always take the time to read those.
The Color and Shape Key for Road Signs
Red Octagon – The red octagon (8 sided) sign is a regulatory sign. An example is the stop sign.
Yellow Diamond – The bright yellow diamond sign is a warning sign. An example is a traffic light is ahead.
Green Rectangle – The green rectangular sign is a guide or information sign. An example is an exit sign.
Blue Square – The blue square sign is a services sign. Hospital signs will have an H on this sign.
Orange Triangle – The orange triangle sign gives you information about construction ahead.
Brown Rectangle – The brown rectangle is to announce a recreation area, like a museum is nearby.
Green House – The green house shape is a sign for school zones. It’ll warn you about school children crossing the road.
Pink Triangle – The pink triangle is to warn you of incident management. It is a warning of an accident ahead.
We hope these help prepare you for the DMV driving test that you have coming up.